Past Winners

2016 Awards Ceremony

Most Inspiring Story (Overall Winner), Best Audio and Sound Award, Leadership Award
Bonnie Howland, by Mallika Worboys & Jess Baider

Most Inspiring Story (Runner Up), Social Enterprise Award, Social Justice Award
Georgia, by Scarlett Wild

Best in Secondary School Category, Making a Difference Award
Jayke Hopa If I Can Do It……, by Putaruru College

Best in Tertiary Category
Student Volunteer Army Camp Akaroa, by Joel Wallan

Best in Open Category
Perception vs Reality, by Azeria D’Souza

Creativity & Culture Award
Generation G, by Mason Cade Packer & James Murray

Best Editing Award, Best Cinematography Award, Environment & Kaitiaki Award
Dog Island Motu Piu, by Sarah Ridsdale

Honorable Mentions
Greening the Rubble, by Brooke Barry and Paris Carpenter
The Short Straw, by Jay Whipps

watch  all winning films

2015 Awards Ceremony

Most Inspiring Story (Overall Winner), Best Cinematography Award, Making a Difference Award
Sehar’s Story, by Michelle Vergel de Dios (Auckland)

Best in Secondary Schools Category, Best Editing Award, Leadership Award
Rewind, by Liam van Eeden and Jean-Martin Fabre (Invercargill)

Best in Tertiary Category
Aspire, by Samantha Smyrke (Otago/Rotorua)

Best in Open Category, Social Justice Award
Youth Pride, Youth Passion, Youth Change, by Nina Griffiths (Northland)

Creativity & Culture Award, Kaitiaki & Environment Award
Whenua Finds a Future, by Sarah Risdale (Palmerston North)

Honorable Mentions
Mountains of Malawi, by Henry Donald
Strands of Hope, by Amy Huang 

watch  all winning films

2014 Awards Ceremony

The 2014 Film Competition Awards Ceremony was held in Wellington on Saturday 6th December. Our young filmmakers, their friends and family, and our awesome community of partners and supporters joined in the celebrations. It was a great evening – thank you to everyone who attended. Check out the winners below.

Most Inspiring Story (Overall Winner)
Quinn’s Quest, by Hunter Williams (Auckland)

Best in Secondary Schools Category
Gap Filler, by Stacey Marris (Christchurch)

Best in Tertiary Category
A Potent Heroine, by Greta Yeoman (Christchurch)

Best in Open Category
Jezza, Making Trax, by Blair Trotman (Christchurch)

watch  all winning films


2013 Awards Ceremony

Most Inspiring Story (Overall Winner), Best Tertiary, Best Technical, Sir Peter Blake Trust Youth Leadership
Plastic Bottle Kayak Expedition, by Seung-Woo Hong (Christchurch)

Best in Secondary Schools Category, Making a Difference Award (Taylor Finderup), People’s Choice Award
Someday, by Mason Packer (Kapiti Coast)

Best in Open Category
Trent, by Gareth Mauchline (Whangarei)

Best Secondary, The Big Idea Creativity & Culture Award, Generation Zero Local Solutions to Climate Change Award, Forest & Bird Kaitiaka/Environment Award
Cows & Cleaner Dairying, by Sarah Ridsdale (Palmerston North)

Traide Aid Human Rights Award
Feminism with Teresa, by Kathleen Winter (Wellington)

Honorable Mention
A Passion for Local Food, by Leigha Spiers Hutton (Wellington)

watch  all winning films


Winner’s Journey